Home Email This page Print Bookmark

Franczek Radelet Promotes Two Associates to Partner

January 20, 2015

Franczek Radelet is pleased to announce that Amy Kosanovich Dickerson and Jacqueline Gharapour Wernz have been named partner. Both Amy and Jackie are members of the firm’s Education Practice Group, representing Illinois school districts and private schools as well as higher education institutions.

Amy counsels clients in labor and employment, special education, student rights, student discipline, and policy and governance issues. Amy regularly represents clients in individual educational program (IEP) meetings, due process matters, and administrative proceedings on employee and student matters, in state and federal court litigation and before the U.S. Department of Education Office for Civil Rights. Amy also regularly assists clients with teacher evaluation, discipline and dismissal issues. Prior to joining the firm, Amy served as the law clerk for the Honorable Morton Denlow, U.S. Magistrate Judge, Northern District of Illinois. Prior to attending law school, Amy taught fifth and sixth grades in the District of Columbia Public School System as a Teach for America Corps Member. Amy earned her J.D., magna cum laude, from Loyola University Chicago School of Law in 2007, and her B.A., summa cum laude, from the University of Colorado at Boulder, 2000.

Jackie assists clients with a wide range of education law issues, including policy and governance issues, business matters, labor and employment issues, student rights and responsibilities, and technology issues. Jackie regularly represents clients in both state and federal court, in administrative hearings on teacher and student matters, and before state and federal administrative and enforcement agencies. Jackie is the primary author of the firm’s Education Law Insights blog (www.edlawinsights.com). She attended the University of Virginia School of Law on a Hardy Cross Dillard Scholarship, graduating in 2007. She is a summa cum laude graduate of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock honors program, the Donaghey Scholars Program.